Summit High School Seniors Earn National Merit Scholar Program Honors

Students were recognized during a Board of Education meeting Thursday night. Each presented a book to a teacher who influenced them during their K-12 education.

Fifteen Summit High School seniors were honored as 2012 National Merit Scholars during the Summit Board of Education workshop meeting Thursday night.

Stacy Grimaldi, one of the Assistant Principal at the high school, called up each student, one-by-one, to be individually recognized for this distinction.

“Each student will pay tribute to a district staff member who has inspired or influenced them during their Summit educational experience,” Grimaldi said. “Each student will present their honored guest with a special book with a personal inscription.”

The Summit High School National Merit Scholars for 2012 are:

  • Abby Beier, who presented Wayne Mallette with “The Last Lecture.”
  • Christopher Chen, who gave “Proof of Heaven – A Neurosurgeon’s Journey Into The Afterlife” to Barbara Vierschilling.
  • Corinne Crisfield, who presented Laura Madden with “Ella Minnow Pea – A Novel in Letters.”
  • Lauren Fiorito, who gave “Seriously… I’m Kidding” to Monika Bartlett.
  • William Gerard, who intends to give “The Power of One” to Jeremy Morman, who could not attend.
  • Samuel Grewcock, who presented “Teacher Man” to Frank Baragona.
  • Tasha Kewalramani, who gave “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish” to Tiffany Bennett.
  • Benjamin Moore, who gave “The Star Wars Trilogy” to Donald Tobey.
  • Hanna Park, who presented Randy Wallock with “The Consolations of Philosophy.”
  • Samuel Porter, who presented “To Be A Runner” to Neal Sharma.
  • Divya Seth, who gave “Linked” to Lauren Ponzio.
  • Samuel Sulcer, who presented Christine Stelmach with “A Short History of Nearly Everything.”
  • Chelsea Taylor, who gave “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff… and It’s All Small Stuff” to Jodi Friedman.
  • Sofia Vizitiu, who presented “The Elegance of the Hedgehog” to Robert Kaplow.
  • Eric Weitzner, who presented Andrea LaQuerre with “Thomas Jefferson – The Art of Power.”

Board of Education members and residents in attendance gave the students a standing ovation for their accomplishments.

The National Merit Scholarship Program began in 1955 as an academic competition among students across the country for scholarships and recognition, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation's web site.

Students enter the program by taking the PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which screens about 1.5 million students each year, according to the web site. Students are chosen based on those scores as well as meeting requirements for entry and participation.

Click here to learn more about the National Merit Scholarship Program.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »