Search Results
City of Summit Board of Education
14 Beekman Terrace, Summit, NJ 07901

The Summit Board of Education oversees and maintains the Summit Public Schools. Board members are appointed by theMore mayor, not elected. The selection process for board members begins with a volunteer application form, available from City Hall, which is submitted by individuals who wish to nominate themselves or someone else for appointment to the board of education or other community boards. The mayor first seeks the advice of community leaders in narrowing the list of candidates, and traditionally makes the final decision in April with the advice of Common Council. In making appointments, the mayor looks for a balance of talents among board members and for representation from all areas of the city. Members are chosen for their experience, expertise and ability. The seven members of the Summit Board of Education are appointed by the mayor for three-year staggered terms, with two or three of the seats up for appointment or reappointment each year. As mandated by law, the board holds its annual reorganization meeting each year on May 16.

Tom O'Rourke serves as board of education president. Jack Lyness is board of education vice president. Board members are: Gloria Ron-Fornes, Celia Colbert, Michelle Stevenson, Eleanor Doyle, George Lucaci.

Dr. Nathan Parker is superintendent of schools; Julie Glazer is assistant superintendent of schools.

Dr. Ken Shulack is director of  human resources; Louis J. Pepe is  board secretary and school business administrator; and Dr. Jane Kachmar-Desonne is director of special services.

See more »